Airline association head: US and UK electronics bans are not sustainable

Airline association head: US and UK electronics bans are not sustainable
By AFP in Montreal
Mar 28 2017

British and US bans on laptops and tablet computers in flight cabins are not sustainable in the long term, the head of the association representing airlines said Tuesday.

“The current measures are not acceptable as a long-term solution to whatever threat they are trying to mitigate,” said Alexandre de Juniac, director general of the International Air Transport Association.

“Even in the short term, it is difficult to understand their effectiveness. And the commercial distortions they create are severe,” he said in a speech in Montreal.

“We call on governments to work with the industry to find a way to keep flying secure without separating passengers from their personal electronics.”

Last week, Washington banned electronic devices bigger than mobile phones on direct flights to the United States from 10 airports in seven Middle Eastern countries and Turkey. 

Britain followed with a similar ban affecting five countries from the Middle East and north Africa, and Turkey.

US officials said the measure was intended to thwart possible attacks on airliners with small explosive devices hidden in consumer electronics.

In theory, it would be harder to hide a bomb in checked luggage because these are usually scanned with more sophisticated equipment.

De Juniac lamented a lack of advance consultation with the airline industry and “little coordination by governments” in the measure’s rollout.

He pointed to pushback from airlines and their passengers who are questioning the security measure, especially after other western countries chose not to impose a ban.

“Why don’t the US and the UK have a common list of airports?” he asked. “How can laptops be secure in the cabin on some flights and not others [from the same airport]?

“And surely there must be a way to screen electronic equipment effectively at airport checkpoints,” De Juniac concluded.

All of the countries affected by the ban are allies or partners of the United States: Turkey, Jordan, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates and Morocco.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s